From constructivist to connectivist teaching and learning

I have never believed in a purely ‘instructivist’ model of higher education for my courses, whereby the role of the teacher is only to ‘transfer knowledge down’ to the students (Crosslin, 2016). Instead, I largely subscribe to a constructivist approach to teaching and learning. Among other things, this means that I conceive of my role more as that of a “guide, helper, and partner” who constructs various “educational interventions” to enhance the students’ learning (Anderson & Dron, 2011: 86).   This also means that my courses are designed for students to contribute to their content through various assignments done throughout the course. Within my courses, a number of student assignments get published for all participants to see. Sometimes, especially in the case of group assignments, all the assignments get published (after I have checked them for plagiarism, etc.). In other cases, I see my role as a matter of ‘curating’ which student reflections get published and which do not – trying to give voice to certain views which I believe other participants would benefit from seeing featured. Why do I think it makes sense for me to do this? I think that at the core I might want to be ‘in control’ and have a concern that letting everything be published automatically would be too ‘uncontrolled’.

However, through my readings, reflections and discussions on learning blogs in the ONL course, I have come to realize that perhaps spending time on curating which student contributions get published, sometimes at the cost of providing quality feedback, might not be such a good investment of my time as an educator. In addition, I increasingly feel there might not be so much need to control which reflections are shared with everyone, and that a ‘connectivist’ pedagogical approach (Anderson & Dron, 2011; Crosslin, 2016; Wang et al., 2014) might be more rewarding for all participants. In a MOOC for which I have been one of the educators, I have had to let go of the need to control what participants get to see. I was a bit scared when I saw the number of participants from countries which are particularly politically polarized today, and on one or two occasions the discussion got close to becoming problematically tense due to different political views. But thankfully, it did not escalate. Now, if no real clashes happened in a MOOC with several thousands of students and over 100 countries, perhaps I can be reassured that controlling the student contributions in the context of a much smaller course should not be my priority.

Instead, it would make sense for me to introduce learning blogs in some courses, and in those courses to stop devoting as much time to ‘controlling’ the course. I am sure my role as a ‘guide, helper and partner’ in relation to the learners would in fact be enhanced by a connectivist design, where all participants are encouraged to comment on each other’s blog posts, and where I spend time commenting as well. At this point, having just taught a course where more than half the participants have invaluable experience and expertise (practitioners working on sustainability issues from different sectors), I feel that it is a pity that the reflections they produced could not be read and commented upon by other participants, it could have enriched the learning a great deal. For this reason, I am planning to further transform this course next year and make it a more connectivist course.

References

Anderson, T., & Dron, J. (2011). Three generations of distance education pedagogy. International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning, 12(3), 80-97.

Crosslin, M. (2016). From instructivism to connectivism: theoretical underpinnings of MOOCs. Current Issues in Emerging eLearning, 3(1), 6.

Wang, Z., Chen, L., & Anderson, T. (2014). A framework for interaction and cognitive engagement in connectivist learning contexts. International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning, 15(2), 121-141.

7 thoughts on “From constructivist to connectivist teaching and learning

  1. These are really nice insights into your reflections and experiences relating to carrying out MOOCs 🙂 I hope it’s okay to ask, how did you end up organizing them? Was there a mutually recognized need for such open courses, or how did they emerge? Were you the one to initiate and plan everything (along with collaborators), or was the institution somehow involved?

    Like

    1. It’s a bit of a long story, I’ll try to make it short. 🙂 The MOOC I’m referring to here was initiated at a meeting of PRME (Principles for Responsible Management Education), a global network I have been active in. Within that network, my business school Hanken has developed a partnership with 3 other business schools from Australia, Brazil and France respectively. Since we are all working very actively on the integration of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in education, we felt it would be a good idea for the 4 schools to develop learning modules on the SDGs, with each school producing videos on 4 SDGs (4 x 4 = 16 videos, on 16 SDGs) and then all together producing a video on the 17th SDG on partnership. So that is what we did, with a Creative Commons license so that each school (and anyone else in the world) can use the videos in their courses. At Hanken, we then developed a MOOC using these videos and complementing them with modules involving student activities, discussions, etc. At that point, the institution was very much involved in the choice of platform – since several other MOOCs had been done, or were planned to be done, on that same platform – which in turn considerably affected the way the MOOC was designed. So yes, the institutional input and support functions (including internal funding for the development of the MOOC) were decisive in designing the MOOC. And the MOOC is strategically seen as a good way for the business school to enhance its reputation in relation to sustainability issues. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for the detailed description of the process, Martin! 🙂 Sounds like something that could be feasible in various fields, as long as one can first find the connections and build relationships with like-minded collaborating parties.

        Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about your “travel” towards connected learning and the problem of reduced control. I myself struggle with daring to let go of my need to have control over what is written and shared within the framework of the course. To read about your conclusion that it works even on a MOOC course with thousands of participants reduces anxiety. I realize that I have a lot of elements in different courses that would work great to open up. This especially applies to assignments where students have performed various case studies. It is not uncommon for them to express in course evaluations that it would have been fun to read other people’s reports, and why not then also let them discuss them as well, perhaps in blog form? Inspirational thoughts.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment Magnus! I’m sure many educators have similar issues with wanting to control too much, sometimes at the cost of missing opportunities of rewarding learning experiences for all involved. The ONL course has succeeded in convincing me that I should design course elements in a more open way.

      Like

  3. Thank you for the wonderful blog posts, was interesting to follow your blog writings and evolution from scepticism, that I totally shared, to presenting good arguments towards new methods of management and roles in the courses. Passing through transportation myself, I am more convinced to adapt them in teaching.

    Like

    1. Thanks Natalia, I very much appreciate your feedback! And I guess you’re right, I gradually moved from relative scepticism to pragmatic interest in applying various connectivist insights and using various new tools for this purpose!

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started